• Log on


Facts about Malta

The country comprises an archipelago, with only the three largest islands (Malta, Gozo, and Comino) being inhabited. Great Britain formally acquired possession of Malta in 1814. The island staunchly supported the UK through both World Wars and remained in the Commonwealth when it became independent in 1964. A decade later Malta became a republic. Since about the mid-1980s, the island has transformed itself into a freight transhipment point, a financial centre, and a tourist destination. Malta became an EU member in May 2004.


Two equal vertical bands of white (hoist side) and red; in the upper hoist-side corner is a representation of the George Cross, edged in red.




316 sq. kms


417,000 (2011 approx.)


Maltese (official), English (official). Italian is widely spoken. German and French are common especially in the Tourist industry.


The majority of the population are native Maltese with a small (2%), mainly British, amount of expatriates.


Roman Catholic


Democratic Republic

Chief of state: Ms Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca (since 4 April 2014)
Head of government: Prime Minister Joseph MUSCAT (since 10 March 2013)
Cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister

Elections: president elected by the House of Representatives for a five-year term; election last held 9 March 2013; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or leader of a majority coalition is usually appointed Prime Minister by the President for a five-year term; the Deputy Prime Minister is appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister.

Economic Profile

Major resources are limestone, a favourable geographic location, and a productive labour force. Malta produces only about 20% of its food needs, has limited fresh water supplies, and has few domestic energy sources. The economy is dependent on foreign trade, manufacturing (especially electronics and pharmaceuticals), and tourism.


Malta has adopted the euro ( € ) on 1st January 2008.

Time Zone

Central European Time


Mediterranean; mild, rainy winters; hot, dry summers

National and Public Holidays

The following is the list of national holidays:

  • 31 March - Freedom Day
  • 1 May - Worker's Day
  • 7 June - Sette Giugno
  • 8 September - Victory Day
  • 21 September - Independence Day
  • 13 December - Republic Day

The following is the list of public holidays:

  • 1 January - New Year's Day
  • 10 February - Feast of St Paul's Shipwreck
  • 19 March - Feast of St Joseph
  • Good Friday
  • 29 June - Feast of St Peter and St Paul
  • 15 August - Feast of the Assumption
  • 8 December - Feast of the Immaculate Conception
  • 25 December - Christmas Day

Weights and measures

Metric system


Voltage is 240 volts AC at 50 Hz

For further information

  • Contact us
  • Find a branch
  • Have a question?

    Have a question?

    Call our Contact Centre on

    +356 2380 2380

    We're here from 8:00am to 8:00pm excluding Sundays and Public Holidays.


    Connect with us

    Listening to what you say about our services matters to us. It’s easy to share your ideas, stay informed and join the conversation.



    Registered Address: 116, Archbishop Street, Valletta VLT 1444. Company No.:C3177

    © HSBC Bank Malta p.l.c. 2018. All rights reserved.

    Registered Address: 116, Archbishop Street, Valletta VLT 1444. Company No.:C3177

    © HSBC Bank Malta p.l.c. 2018. All rights reserved.